Tags

, ,

pinterestI am not insane.

I repeat, I am not insane.

When I first got wind of Pinterest, I thought it odd, stupid, and incoherent.

I thought that for a very long time.

Then, I got the notion that I might find some beading ideas there.

And so I went.

And then I went again.

And I swear, I never knew that I was being invaded by nano bytes. Insideous robots whose only aim in robotic life is to whisper, “go to Pinterest. There might be something new.” And one board leads to another, and another and like a black widow your synapses are painstakingly webbed with connections that all lead to another board of PINS!

Seriously I’m not that addicted. I have found some good ideas, and am presently making a this and a that.

I figure the problem with most crafters is that they think that anybody can do this. And thus you end up with some really stupid things. I figure coffee filter wreathes is a pretty stupid idea.

pinterest2I’m rather suspicious I gotta say of the man I ran across who pins roaring twenties girls. That seems fairly weird.

But then I just learned something today. When the going gets weird the weird turn pro. Hunter Thompson said that, probably while higher than a kite, which is not all that high actually–a weather balloon would be a better analogy, but I guess such things were unknown when that phrase was invented.

Oops, my bad, the Thompson quote comes from A Pondering Mind. You should sign up if you haven’t, since there is much wisdom, much humor, and well, both are useful in any given day.

Along similar lines, do stop by Mostly Bright Ideas, a fella who has a good sense of humor and is kinda shotgun in his approach, and well, makes you smile, another useful thing to do in any given day. People who think like me realize that really really disparate ideas often have a common thread if you search hard enough, and are creative enough, and are well, strange enough to see the invisible connection. Mysterious no?

Any the way: here is another of those, “I’d rethink that idea before setting up a store to sell it in” items that somebody thought was a good idea on Pinterest:

pinterest-bagel-toteSome people go a bit over the top with recycling.

I figure somebody will start up a tutorial on how to render dead bodies to make soap.

But I’m really glad to know how to make a dress from a man’s large t-shirt.

You don’t think that’s possible?

I beg to differ.

Without scissors or tape or even a pin.

pinterestteashirtYou see?

And who can say they have not stayed awake at night dreaming (awake of course) of this:

pinterestducktapeCan you have TOO much duct tape?

Seriously.

I think I would go crazy with duct tape.

But not for the reasons they might think.

I go crazy about a lot of things.

Most of them are of interest only to me.

I realize that.

Do you know how many mirror frames I’ve seen made out of plastic spoons?

tree cozyThe woman who lives in the house belonging to this tree, needs help.bucketfilling

And who would want to miss this great tip:

I mean this is like a certified listing of people who need meds quickly.

And wow, I can’t wait to get in the kitchen with this idea:

Home cooking is so much better than any old junk you find in the supermarket.

mtndewcupcakes.jpg w=600But enough.

I recognize these  as crazy, therefore I am most sane.

While I’m at it, take a look at a couple of good blogs I’ve run into lately:

Evolving Thoughts has been doing some good writing on the human mind and how it can get so screwed up and how it can decide it likes it that way. This is a first article and there is another one, so go back to the home page and you’ll find it. How we learn, or how others don’t, is fascinating.

I was looking some stuff up for Facebook on Ted Cruz, dominionist and all-around nut, and found a great article by Jonathan Turley, super smart professor of law and all-around commentator on lots of things. His resume is impressive and so you might be interested in his thoughts. Mostly he talks about legal cases, but occasionally slips off into other areas, hence the post on Teddy the Tunnel Vision Turd.

You might want to take a look at OPED News as well, which is I find to give pretty good news well backed up with facts.

This is all connected by the way, but I’m sure not gonna tell you how.

And I have no idea why so many people are now following this blog. Over two thousand. Musta been something I said. But I have no idea which oddity it was. Pin on world!