Tags

, ,

Are we better at social justice for being religious? That is a question that most religious people would argue in the affirmative. But an important study published in Science Journal actually set out to find out.

The study, entitled “The Origin and Evolution of Religious Prosociality,” sets out to determine whether religion plays an effective role in getting people to act against their immediate personal interests in favor of “community good.” In other words, when it costs us, do we deliver because of our religious beliefs, or do say atheists and others who are agnostic or non-practicing do as much?

The bottom line of this study was reported in Science Daily. The upshot seems to be that, well sometimes, we, as religious folks, do, if in fact we see some benefit from the giving. We definitely respond it seems, if we are acknowledged in our giving. This is somewhat disconcerting, since Jesus suggested we should do so, without one hand knowing what the other was doing. In other words, we should be doing good quietly and mostly anonymously if we wish to find favor with God.

We also respond to being reminded that we are required to think and do for others from our own largess of either time, resources, or talents. This suggests that churches should continue to remind their flocks of their social responsibilities, no matter how uncomfortable is sometimes is to ask, especially in times of economic uncertainty such as we are facing today.

What was more interesting to me, was the finding that historically, organized religion has contributed greatly to our sense of community and our desire to organize into cooperative societies that are stable over time. In other words, religion was a huge contributor to the cultivation of societies which were able to turn their attention away from survival and defense against each other to the task of discovery and growth.

In a real sense, our society today, and our advancements in so many disciplines, are a direct result from the stability offered by religion. That is still not the case today, since over time, we have constructed institutions within our nations and cities governmental structure that now serve the same purpose. We have, in a word, institutionalized the religious precepts of caring for the widow and orphan, and others marginalized in our world.

We have learned to cooperate through religion, and that cooperation has led to institutions who now cooperate for the common good, however that is defined in any given instance. These cultural norms handed down through the generations, have become the norm among all now, religious or not, such that today, no meaningful difference probably exists between the generosity of the believer and non-believer. All are equally moral and feel the same need to be a part of a successful societal group.

Whatever your personal take on the issue, the whole thing raises some issues for all of us. I do believe that religion continues to prompt us individually that we have responsibilities to more than just ourselves. While that message can come from political leaders occasionally, or perhaps even other public figures such as a Susan Sarandon or Bono, we feel it most forcefully in the religious setting, where we are reminded of giving on a regular basis.

My church is full of opportunities to serve the greater society at large. I can volunteer in literally dozens of ways. I have been in contemplation over this for some weeks now. It was easy enough to start attending a weekly adult formation class each Sunday morning. Last week, we discussed the bible and politics, specifically as it relates to immigration. We looked at various biblical references to the “stranger” the “alien” and how we were told we should respond. Most of you, who are religious, know the answer to that of course. We are to treat the “alien” among as as if he were a citizen, we are to care for him, and see to his needs. We are to consider him as ourselves in every meaningful way.

But I have to ask myself this: Is my personal enlightenment, which transfers to blogging and voting enough? I have committed myself to knitting scarves for the homeless. I was led to this by the fine example of Ruth at Visions and Revisions. (You can link via the sidebar.) Yet, I never seem to find the time to begin. I spend literally hours on this computer, slowed by dial-up no doubt, but hours still, reading blogs, reading political websites, and linking you to stories and writing them myself.

I have to ask myself, what am doing? Is it enough? It is all too easy for me to fall into a personal intellectual hole wherein somehow, talking is akin to doing. And that just isn’t so, or at least I believe it is not so. I admit, I serve some minor purpose in blogging, but truly I am talking to folks who already agree with me for the most part. It is easy to see that people begin to slip away over time who find the message not to their liking. This is both clear and rational no doubt. I don’t waste time visiting blogs whose message is against my own beliefs either.

Bear with me, if I sound confused, because I am. I’m trying to figure out where this blog goes in the future, after this election for instance. I haven’t the same passion over the budget or any myriad of issues before Congress, as I do that we turn out this horrid Republican disaster and turn the page to a fresh start with sane people at the helm. And again, what do I accomplish by merely voicing what my readers believe themselves?

How am I reaching out to the “least of these?” How am I making a difference in the lives of real persons? I’m afraid I’ve been kidding myself, asking for God’s grace to wisely and honestly tell it like I truly see it. I’m preaching to the choir and we all know that. So where do I go from here? I’m feeling pretty paltry right now, that I am a good talk, but short on action. I’m off to do some knitting and give this all more thought.

Your opinion and advice matters. Let me know if you have solutions to my dilemma. I’m feeling a bit like a hypocrite today.

Bookmark and Share