I Really Don’t Care About the NSA

NSASo sue me.

Bad Sherry! “Not a good liberal/progressive/anarchist you are not,”  said Yoda. Failure, cheap imitation, traitor, pretender, screams the ultra-perfect Sherry who sits perched upon my shoulder, who believes all the right things all the time. Make that left shoulder too!

But I don’t care.

I really don’t.

And, yeah, you guessed it. I’m gonna tell you why.

I don’t care if you agree or not. Well I do, but I’m trying to feel tough, and that means talk tough.

Okay, lets review the main points.

Nobody is listening into your conversations with aunt Dorothy about when if ever your aunt Lucy’s boy is going into rehab for that meth thing. Nobody is sitting inside your laptop scribbling away on a note pad that you “in the name of research” ended up on that site and spent just a little toooo long trying to figure out how they got THAT, THERE.

The NSA gathers long long computer lists of telephone numbers. When they identify a foreign terrorist overseas, and he calls one of those numbers in the US, then all the numbers that number calls are identified. If there are actual facts that make something look suspicious that a crime is being perpetrated, a warrant can be sought and obtained and then the numbers can be linked to the owners.

I realize that this all constitutes in some fashion a “slippery slope”. Everything does. When the first salamander slithered from the mud onto the rock and found it good, humankind and all its perversions was not far behind. I get that.

But let’s be real.

I mean really real.

Absent the cute phrases that we have all come to know and love/tolerate/detest secretly/not really understand/never thought of long enough to know how stupid they really are. Let’s just examine the world as it is.

Since time immemorial, there have been cameras in banks. I can’t think of a single person who has ever questioned their efficacy. There are also cameras in many stores, especially around the counters where their high-end small stuff is. Nobody questions that either. There are now cameras being attached by cities to most intersections of their cities in the hopes of identifying more criminals and thus causing them to stop committing crimes. More businesses install cameras outside too maybe to spot the thief on the way out.

Every freakin’ individual and most dogs now have smart phones and take pictures of EVERY GOD DAMN THING ON THE PLANET, and post it to every social network with the idea that we all want to see it. Uncle Norm’s stubbed toe is not one of them, but I’ll see it anyway on Facebook of I stick around long enough.

Speaking of which, Facebook knows me better than my mother ever did. It tailors my sidebar to reflect what I like, and if I say, “stop showing me that” it wants to know why, and what would I prefer. If, as I did a couple of years ago, I spend some time on a New Mexico real estate site viewing potential homes, suddenly my ads include all kinds of stuff about New Mexico.

Who is kidding who here?

If I buy anything on-line, I get a bunch of e-mails, REGULARLY I might add, with other “stuff” I might also like. If I buy a book on Amazon, they alert me of other similar books I might want to buy.

We call all this smart business.

It’s way more intrusive in my mind than whether my number called your number.

Let’s face it kiddies, this is only going to get worse.

We are pretty okay with drones monitoring our cities looking for bad behavior. We like it okay (too many of us at least) if it’s done at the Southern border, though nobody cares much about the Northern last time I asked.

Let us get one think straight: Evolution moves upward and onward.

Technology only gets more technologically savvy.

Savvy?

It will do more in the future. Business will learn new and exciting ways to get into my life. They are talking about prototypes of refrigerators which somehow or other know when I’ve run out of milk and will alert me. I’m sure the toilet will soon be reminding me to “wipe that again, you missed a spot.”

Telephone-TrafficYou cannot unring the bell.

We are a curious species.

We love to learn new things.

We love to invent new things.

Few of us have the smarts to think ahead to how this thingamabob might be misused.

Einstein did about that nuclear option, but a bit too late as it were.

So, should we all just lay down and die?

Ready your wrists for cuffs?

Sign on to indentured servitude for life?

No, but we have to accept the fact that it’s only going to get worse. There is going to be precious little privacy in the future. Which is okay for most of us, because most of us aren’t doing anything we have to be concerned the government will frown upon. I have no meth lab in the garage, REPEATING: I HAVE NO METH LAB IN THE GARAGE!!!

Just kidding.

The real issue is how do we insure that such stuff as is out there doesn’t get into the hands of those who would use it against people because they don’t worship right? vote right? read right? speak right? That’s the real issue.

That’s the conversation we need to be having.

Once the guys at Los Alamos figured out the A-Bomb, the rest became as it were history. We can’t stop a single country from actually making one. We pretty much know that. We’re just trying at this point to talk “bad” countries out if it. We try to “dissuade” them. What we really are trying to prevent is theft by crazy people and the resulting horrific tragedy that will ensue.

So, that’s my take on all this. I still think Snowden is an ass, and deserving of no sympathy, and I don’t have a good reason for that except that he didn’t go through “normal” channels first before blowing his horn.

So sue me.

PS: Yes it creeps me out that the people I find supporting my position are people I mostly don’t like. And that makes me slightly worried that I’ve lost my last sane brain cell.

12 comments on “I Really Don’t Care About the NSA

  1. Gunta says:

    I find it kind of creepy what technology is capable of these days. But it all they’re doing is what you describe, then I’m probably OK with it. It’s the stuff they don’t tell you about that worries me.

    • Sherry says:

      I certainly can’t find anything else Gunta. Nobody is listening in for sure, and they can’t have the manpower to seriously look at much, so it’s just following known bad people from over seas and following who they call here. I can’t see what’s wrong with that frankly. But in any case, even if they say they won’t do it, they are going to doncha thing. What can be done will be done. It’s inevitable as far as I can tell. !END

      • Gunta says:

        Growing up when family had to be careful what was written in personal letters because the Soviet Union was screening them all, I probably have a slightly different perspective. It starts to feel a bit familiar. Osama pretty much accomplished what he set out to do, making us all so paranoid and screwing our economy with the wars that were purportedly launched as a result. It’s the loss of transparency that bothers me the most.

  2. Hansi says:

    I am not. i repeat, I am Not growing pot plants behind my garage in Southern California. Just in case someone is monitoring you and all your lefty ideas :)

  3. The part about the smart phone & social media, mixed with how well the FB knows me — yes, all that.
    I don’t care, either.

    • Sherry says:

      And I consider myself fairly unsavvy techy wise. I can’t do half of what can be done these days. lol…!END

  4. I don’t care about the NSA, either. I care about big business getting into my business. I care about global climate change. I care about the corrupting influence of money in politics. I care about the growing gap between the poor and the wealthy in this country. I cannot stir up energy for this conspiracy that has been manufactured about NSA and every human’s business. Yes. You can’t unring a bell.

    • Sherry says:

      It seems we care about the same things Jean. I find this just distracting in the same way that the GOP intends to make Obamacare the centerpiece of their 2014 election. I find that so silly and unproductive when there are so many real issues to confront. They seem to have a death wish. I hope it is granted. !END

      • Hey, Sherry – if you ordered some of my prints, I did have to alter a couple of them. I reposted them, though. Hope it works out. Let me know if you still have trouble.

        • Sherry says:

          I will Joan, but I think it went okay. I got a receipt and so forth from the site. I can’t wait. Parker will make some frames and I’ll find a glass place so they will stay nice. :) !END

  5. okjimm says:

    I don’t care about the NSA, either. America does not need a new Professional Soccer league. I would add a list of other things I don’t care about…..but I am just too apathetic.

Tell me, what do you think?

