This is Sooooo Unfunny

Hey! Mother, the freakin’ Nature! Wake the frack UP!

It’s April 16, well into Spring. Can you pay a bit more attention please. I can tell you with supreme authority that I do NOT like waking up to that ———>

Not funny. Not at all.

Okay, so it is mostly gone already, but the wind is still blowing and it’s dark and dingy outside, and not even 35° and well, if you don’t mind can we get back to something in the 60’s and sunshine?

Geesh, is that asking TOO much?

Not the least of which, it rained on my birthday! I mean, how nice was that of you?

I got me six animals all in varying degrees of pissed off because they had already gotten used to lounging around outside relaxing in chairs and on porches. And you know they think I control all this, so I’m getting all these angry looks, lots of sighs, and every time one wants out, they scurry away from the door as soon as they take ONE look. 

So get on the stick. Get on the stick? What does that even mean? Is Mother Nature a witch?

I ran across this article that reviews a book on secularism and morality. It sounds interesting, and the review itself makes some valid points I think. Worth a look-see. From Prospect Magazine.

Speaking of religion, all of Christendom seems engaged in its own in-house squabbling. Perhaps this has always been the case, but I’m more acutely aware that I used to be. It seems that most denominations are dealing with some sort of battle between the progressive/liberal arm and the conservative element. John Allen calls it “tribal Catholicism.  Allen writes a thoughtful piece in NCR addressing the issue in the Catholic Church. I think his suggestions are timely and I’d sure like to see them instituted. We have too much of the “liberal” church vs “conservative” church mentality. We need to find a way to bridge the gap.

This next article caused me to bolt from my chair, run to the bathroom and look deeply into the mirror. Whew, my head is on straight after all. I was worried. Why is the wacko, crazy, insane, and ever radical right-wing religiosity against anti-bullying measures? Oh, yeah, they think we shouldn’t protect gays. Or anybody else who is the victim of this aggressive behavior. They think it pollutes our gender priorities or something. They are crazy. This makes me crazy. All in the name of Christianist fundamentalism.

I don’t mean to turn this into a religious day of blogging, but this next post caught my eye, because the author really takes a  Catholic teaching and skewers the GOP’s Paul Ryan. He argues that anyone who supports Ryan’s budgetary plan is simply unfit to present themselves for communion along the lines of intrinsic evil versus prudential judgment, as laid out by Benedict in a 2004 letter.  Makes for some interesting reading.

Tis a slow day. Tis a blustery day. Tis not a nice day at all. Going to hide under the bed until it makes nice. Mother Nature. Put up yer dukes!

16 comments on “This is Sooooo Unfunny

  1. Moe says:

    Sherry – in a deicious twist of irony, I – the only entirely secular person in my exteneded family – am a regular reader of NCR and a great fan of John Allen and the other great columnists.

    My father was a subscriber and in the last years of his life I reaad every issue to him. We had a routine where I would first leaf through and tell him what sort of stuff was in it and then we’d choose what ot read first. But he – nad thus I – always read it all the way through. When he died, I made sure hte subscription was redirected to me and intend to keep re-upping.

    A fine publication.

    • Sherry says:

      NCR has some of the most thoughtful people I’ve ever found in one place. I subscribe to a ton of their writers and find much to ponder. Thank you for a lovely story. ‘

  2. Middle Seaman says:

    A rainy, dark and windy day is a nice day. Light and joy should come from within; at least, this is the way I do it.

    Morality is part of religions because it is inherent to our existence. The people that created religions have decided to have a strong morality as a pillar. Clearly, secular people are entitled to the same.

    The fight between progressives and conservative is probably as old as human history. We actually in a country that has a minuscule progressive movement and the conservatives win hands down, Why should Christians (or any other religion) be spared this fight.

    • Sherry says:

      lol…we each have our weather nos and mine is windy, rainy and cold ….yech…And you are most right, all of the world seems divided in these forward looking, backward looking split.

  3. Ahab says:

    Oh, the Religious Right has despised anti-bullying measures (at least for LGBT youth) for a long time. Do you realize how many Religious Right efforts were launched against the National Day of Silence?

    • Sherry says:

      Indeed, I did read a number of things about that. I just can’t fathom how these people look in the mirror each day and convince themselves that they are on the side of God. Inexplicable.

  4. pepsoid says:

    Would you hate me if I said it has been almost consistently lovely here in Worcestershire, England, for most of April so far?

    • Sherry says:

      Hey, given your rainy climate…I am thrilled whenever you get some sun! Or at least that is how we perceive it.

  5. okjimm` says:

    //they think we shouldn’t protect gays.//

    hhmmmm well, ya….. cause well, gosh… gays ain’t people…. they are, ah, gay. And should use separate restrooms…. and sit at the back of the bus…. and not date your son….(or daughter)…….. but they better pay taxes!!!!

  6. Infidel753 says:

    It seems that most denominations are dealing with some sort of battle between the progressive/liberal arm and the conservative element. John Allen calls it “tribal Catholicism.

    Forgive me if I’m more concerned about Father Moe and Father Lester.

    Hey, at least now they’re arguing about things that actually matter. Back in the old days the big battles were over stuff like the exact nature of the Incarnation and whether the cracker literally turns into the flesh of Jesus when the priest mumbles over it. Seeing significant numbers of Christians claiming that maybe God doesn’t hate fags after all is something new in the world. At least it’s actually doing some good.

    • Sherry says:

      Actually I don’t think it’s that new. In some instances religion calls forth humanity and sometimes it is pulled forward by humanity. And always, it’s a little bit of both.

  7. Middle Seaman says:

    Today, it’s sunny at the Nation’s Capital; hope Sherry is happy. (Although the rumor is that Paul Ryan wants the rich to have more sunny days than the poor.)

Tell me, what do you think?

